Monday, 19 January 2009

66 countries still discriminate agaisnt HIV/AIDS travellers

Thirty countries deport HIV+ migrant workers, sixty six countries discriminate HIV+ travellers, including 19 in Europe, according to the 2008 survey of the Deutsche AIDS-Hilfe e.V.

The survey shows currently 66 of the 186 countries included have discriminatory restrictions in place. 30 countries do not stand back from deporting people living with HIV or asking them to leave the country, once they are detected to be HIV positive, a huge problem for migrant workers. The majority of countries with entry restrictions require mandatory HIV tests to exclude people with HIV. Findings are published in English at the global database on HIV specific travel restrictions.

The Global Database on HIV-Related Travel Restrictions, an initiative of the German AIDS Federation, the European AIDS Treatment Group and the International AIDS Society, provides updated information from 196 countries, on existing regulations denying entry or residency for people living with HIV, based on relevant country legislation.

No comments:

Post a Comment