Thursday, 7 May 2009

Maine allows same sex marriage: 5th US State to do so

The US state of Maine has now legislated to allow same sex marriage, now the 5th US State to do so. Maine is the most northerly of the north-eastern New England states.

The other States now are:

  • Massachusetts (court ruling) (also New England)

  • Iowa (court ruling) (midwest)

  • Vermont (legislation, overturning previous civil union regime) (also New England)

  • Connecticut (court ruling, now backed up by legislation, overturning previous civil union regime)(also New England)

    Where is Maine?

    View Larger Map
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment